Scroll to content
School Logo

Meynell Primary School

Aspire, Believe, Explore, Achieve

Meet the Governors

Meynell Primary School is part of Tapton School Academy Trust. The Trust Board is responsible for all of the schools within the Trust and determines the mission, vision and Trust improvement strategy. Local context and community links are provided by Local Governing Boards. 


Our Local Governing Board is newly formed and consists of representatives from staff, parents/carers and the wider community. It provides support and challenge to senior leaders at the school, whilst reviewing and monitoring areas for which it has delegated responsibility from the Trust Board. These include: 


  • Ensuring that the voice of all local stakeholders is heard and taken into account in the work of the Trust and the school. 
  • Ensuring that we meet the needs of our community through effective engagement.
  • Ensuring that the experience and welfare of our pupils, including their curriculum, is well-matched to the needs of our community.
  • Challenging the school to ensure deployment of financial resource best fits the needs of the whole school. 


Further information about the Trust governance structure and the role of the Local Governing Board is available on the Trust website: 


Tapton School Academy Trust - Governance

Members of the Local Governing Board



Andrew Hards - Chair of the Governing Body

Andrew took on the role of parent governor at Meynell in early 2015 and has been on the governing body ever since, transitioning to a community governor role in 2022 when his third child completed their primary school education. With the creation of individual governing boards for the three primary schools in October 2022, Andrew took on the role of Chair for the Meynell Governing Board.


Andrew has worked for 25 years in IT, initially as a technician and for the past 15 years or so as a manager in various roles across multiple organisations, currently working for one of the UK's largest dairies.  He lives locally with his wife and children and in what little remaining spare time he has, he plays chess for Sheffield Nomads and reads lots of books. 



 Phillip Hulme - Vice Chair, Co-opted and GDPR Governor

Phil currently works as an online Maths Teacher, tutor and examiner for Sat’s and GCSE’s. He has previously worked in Schools in Yorkshire and the Midlands as well as internationally.  Originally from Manchester, he moved to Sheffield for university and after several years living abroad has settled back here.

Outside of work, Phil enjoys cooking, travelling and has recently decided to start training to run a half marathon. Phil dislikes early mornings and gardening.





 Chris Gray - Staff Governor

Chris started working in the catering industry before becoming a Hotel Manager.  Chris has now been teaching for 16 years working in both Key Stage 1 & 2, teaching mostly in Sheffield. Chris is a keen cyclist and has an interest in ancient history and a specialist interest in Primitive Christianity.  Chris currently teaches at Meynell Primary School where he has responsibility for Computing.






 Vanessa Taylor - SEND & Parent Governor

Vanessa is a parent governor at Meynell and loves the community spirit in and around the school. Her previous roles included working in hospitality and the customer service sector before becoming a busy mum of four children. 


Vanessa has particular interests in special educational needs and has lots of personal experience. She believes that every child deserves an education and a positive learning experience. 


Vanessa enjoys learning new skills and reading in her spare time. 


Leah McInnis - Community Governor

Leah is a Subject Leader for English at Chaucer School and has worked in secondary education for 9 years. She is passionate about helping students raise aspirations and reach their full potential.


Leah has worked in secondary schools across the West Midlands, promoting a love of reading and helping students of all abilities to make good progress. She is currently completing her NPQ in Leading Teaching. 


In her spare time, Leah loves going to the theatre, walking her dog in the Peak District, and reading


  Richard Wynne - Health & Safety and Parent Governor

  As a parent to a daughter who attends Meynell Primary School, Richard is passionate about creating opportunity for children in the area to receive excellent education. Richard hopes to make sure school life gives them great memories, long lasting and the best chances of success as a adult.  Richard is also a union representative within his workplace, this role entails representing and providing advice to colleagues when they have problems at work and accompanying them to grievance or disciplinary hearings. Richard is keen to extend his skills to best support the children and the school as a parent governor.